The UK sanctions list

9 March 2021


Find out which people, entities and ships are designated or specified under regulations made under the Sanctions and Anti-Money Laundering Act 2018, and why.

UK sanctions list

UK sanctions list


New UK sanctions regimes came fully into force under the Sanctions and Anti-Money Laundering Act 2018 (the Sanctions Act) at 11pm on 31 December 2020. The regulations establishing these regimes apply in the whole of the UK, including in Northern Ireland.

Some of these regimes contain sanctions measures (for instance asset-freezes or travel bans) which apply in respect of persons or ships which have been designated or specified.

The UK sanctions list

The UK government publishes the UK sanctions list, which provides details of those designated under regulations made under the Sanctions Act. The list also details which sanctions measures apply to these persons or ships, and in the case of UK designations, provides a statement of reasons for the designation.

HM Treasury’s Office for Financial Sanctions Implementation provides a consolidated list of persons and organisations under financial sanctions, including those under the Sanctions Act and other UK legislation. Find out:

Publicising sanctions decisions

When the UK government makes a decision to make, vary or revoke a designation or ship specification, it will update the UK sanctions list in accordance with the publicity provisions in the relevant sanctions regulations.


Kindly supplied by GOV.UK


Follow Chamber International on Twitter @ChamberInt and on Facebook for the latest in international trade.