Guatemala adopts EUR1s

1 December 2013 saw the last of the 6 Central American countries finalise their Free Trade Agreement (FTA) with the EU. Guatemala was the last country to sign the FTA meaning that the whole region of Central America can now benefit from the agreement, the other five member countries are Costa Rica, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Honduras and Panama. This now opens up new markets and will simplify rules which will boost trade and investments on both sides. Origin rules apply and preference can be claimed against EUR1’s or invoice declarations. The full text of the agreement can be read here