50th Country signs up to Trade Facilitation Agreement

20 October 2015

Macedonia became the 50th country to ratify the World Trade Organisation (WTO) Trade Facilitation Agreement (TFA) this month (October).

Concluded at the WTO’s 2013 Bali Ministerial Conference, the TFA outlines terms for expediting the movement, release and clearance of goods, including goods in transit. It sets out measures for effective cooperation between customs and other authorities on trade facilitation and customs compliance issues; and also contains provisions for technical assistance and capacity building in this area.

The TFA will enter into force once two-thirds of WTO member countries have formally accepted the Agreement.  Others that have signed up so far include Hong Kong China, Singapore, the United States, Mauritius, Malaysia, Japan, Australia, Botswana, Trinidad and Tobago, the Republic of Korea, Nicaragua, Niger, Belize, Switzerland, Chinese Taipei, China, Liechtenstein, Lao PDR, New Zealand, Togo, Thailand, and the European Union (on behalf of its 28 member states).

More information on the TFA can be found at www.wto.org/tradefacilitation.


Follow Chamber International on Twitter @ChamberInt and on Facebook to learn about upcoming events.

Chamber International - Export support and advice